May 4, 2019 General Election and Special Elections

The City of DeSoto will hold a General and Special Election to Fill an Unexpired Term on Saturday, May 4, 2019.

Our City Charter states: Members of the City Council shall run for office by place, elected at large by the qualified voters of the entire City, and shall, except the Mayor, reside in correspondingly-numbered geographical districts of the City established by ordinance based on equality of population.

The following Places are eligible for General Election: Place 1 (Mayor), Place 3, and Place 5. The following Place is eligible for the Special Election to Fill an Unexpired Term: Place 4.

The following individuals have applied for a place on the ballot (in the order they will appear on the ballot):

Place 1
Curtistene S. McCowan
Rachel L. Proctor
Byron D. Sanders

Place 3
Nicole Raphiel
Al Moten Jr.

Place 4
Andre' Byrd, Sr.

Place 5
Marikay Dewberry
Kenneth Watts
Dinah Marks

Below are important dates to remember.

  • April 22-April 30 - Early Voting - Disciple Central Community Church - 901 N. Polk Street, #101, DeSoto, Texas 75115
    April 22-26, 2019: 8am until 5pm
    April 27, 2019: 8am until 5pm
    April 28, 2019: 1pm until 6pm
    April 29-30, 2019: 7am until 7pm
  • May 4, 2019 - Election Day Voting - DeSoto ISD Conference Center - 200 E. Belt Line Road, DeSoto, Texas 75115