Keep DeSoto Beautiful Board


  • Comprised of seven members appointed by the City Council to serve for a two-year term with term limits of six years, and two student members selected by the Board, each student serving a school-year term.
  • Initiates, plans, and coordinates litter control and prevention programs.
  • Encourages the planting and preservation of trees, shrubs, and flowers.
  • Promotes a safer, healthier, and more beautiful community.
  • Stimulates interest and action toward conservation of resources through recycling.
  • Awards Property of the Month designation to a property that exemplifies the mission and goals of KDB.
  • A non-profit organization and affiliate of Keep Texas Beautiful, Inc.

Meeting Schedule

The Keep DeSoto Beautiful Board of Directors meets the first Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in the Parks Conference Room located at 211 E. Pleasant Run Road.

Staff Representative

Nathan Busby
Parks Superintendent

Council Representative

Andre' Byrd, Sr.
Mayor Pro Tem

Board of Directors

Mary Davis

Place 1 
Initial Appointment: 08/22
Current Term Expires: 3/24

Rhetta Washington McCoy

Place 2 
Initial Appointment: 2/20 
Current Term Expires: 3/24 

Felicia Turrentine 

Place 3 
Initial Appointment: 08/19 
Current Term Expires: 3/23 

LaToya Moore  

Place 4
*Initial Appointment: 10/19
Current Term Expires: 3/24


Debbie Hicks

Place 5
Initial Appointment: 01/19
Current Term Expires: 3/24


Amen Kamau 

Place 6
*Initial Appointment: 11/22
Current Term Expires: 3/24


Paulette Hunter

Place 7
Initial Appointment: 10/19
Current Term Expires: 3/24