Arts Commission

  • Comprised of seven members serving three-year terms.  
  • Administers the arts grant funding process by reviewing applications from prospective grantees and making recommendations to the City Council for funding.
  • Assists in planning cultural activities such as the Fourth Friday Concert Series and DeSoto Arts Live Art & Music Festival which are for the benefit of DeSoto citizens.

  • Meets on the first Monday of each month. Meetings are held in Pecan Room 1 in the DeSoto Civic Center (211 E. Pleasant Run Road).

Follow this link for More Information on the DeSoto Arts Commission

Staff Representative
Kathy Jones
Community Relations Manager

Council Representative
  Nicole Raphiel
Members & Term Expirations

Three-Year Terms
Place 1
Marchell Eans
Term Expires 9/19
Current Term Expires: 09/22
Place 2
Janice Garrett
Initial Appointment: 12/17
CurrentTerm Expires: 9/20
Place 3
James Adams
Initial Appointment: 03/18
Current Term Expires: 9/21
Place 4
Myron Butler
Initial Appointment:  11/19
Current Term Expires: 9/22
Place 5 
Roslyn Young
Initial Appointment: 09/19
Current Term Expires: 9/22

Place 6 
Barron Coleman
Initial Appointment:
Current Term Expires: 9/20

Place 7 
LaSonja Flowers-Ivory
Initial Appointment:  01/20
Current Term Expires:  09/21